Gallery

I’m Illustrating a picture book about pigs!

I’m illustrating a book about three little pigs in the jungle to be exact. It’s called “Don’t be a PIG in a Panic!” by Leila Leidke.  I’m having a lot of fun and the pigs are getting easier and easier to draw with every page (all 32 of them). I am illustrating this book using digital media, but the brushes can look like colored pencil, charcoal, watercolor, gouache or even oil paint. Digital media is not really faster for me, BUT it really makes my life easier if there are any changes. Traditional media is so hard to change after it’s finished.

Pencil rough for cover

Pencil rough for cover

After carefully reading the manuscript, I start with real number 2B pencil sketches to develop the characters and get approval from the author on each page. It takes a long time to create 32 pages of artwork. There really are no shortcuts if you want to do it right. In fact the character development is the most important part of the book. The composition of each page is the second most important. You want each page to capture the attention of the child reading the book or being read to. So I do a lot of pencil sketches to figure out the best layout before even starting the line work and color.

If you have any question about having your book illustrated, email me at dayne(dot)design(at)gmail(dot)com. I always enjoy talking with authors. You can also leave a comment by clicking on the thought bubble in the top right corner of this post.Pig in TroublePig_rough_15

2 comments on “I’m Illustrating a picture book about pigs!

  1. Great post. I love the sketches so far! I also really like your statement that,”In fact the character development is the most important part of the book.” I often thought that. I feel the same way, it is equally, if not more, important for the illustrator to develop the character as the author. I am fascinated by this and enjoy your posts. Have a great weekend!

    Paul R. Heweltt

    Like

Leave a Comment

