Finally Illustrations done, “Don’t be a Pig in a Panic!” picture book

After illustrating this book for the author Leila Leidtke for the last 7 months, I am happy to say it is almost finished. I can now draw pigs snakes and tigers with my eyes closed. I loved illustrating the pigs, what really bogged down the process were the jungle backgrounds. You can’t fake a jungle background. Regular landscapes can be a sweep of green with a few strategically placed trees, jungles on the other hand are very complicated. I started out with very complex backgrounds, but as I went along and the characters count increased on each page the backgrounds got more and more simple. I’d much rather illustrate pigs any day.

I’m ready to move on to the next project. . . Ballerinas anyone?

My contact information: www.daynesislendesign.com

Just a few of the 16 full color spreads without the text in place.

PIGS_2-3_smPIGS_6-7_smPIGS_10-11_smPIGS_14-15_sm PIGS_18-19_sm PIGS_20-21_sm PIGS_24-25_sm

2 comments on “Finally Illustrations done, “Don’t be a Pig in a Panic!” picture book

Leave a Comment

