First step to illustrate a picturebook

Character studies:

This is my favorite part of the process. This is the part where I read the manuscript over and over until I  become completely familiar with each character. If I am illustrating directly for a self-publishing author, I also listen carefully to what the author says about the characters and scenes. If I am working for a publisher, the author has very little input, I work with the publisher’s art director. The book I am working on now is for a self-publishing author. It’s about a ‘Round’ little girl who wants to be a ballerina butterfly in the school play. Olivia, all the kids in her class who tease her, the teacher and her very wise grandmother are characters. I will also be illustrating Olivia’s grandmother’s garden, the school room and Olivia’s bedroom.

Olivia-face

Olivia_Dancing

Olivia_profileMEDRound_grandma_tinyRound_Bunnies_tinyRound_Olivia_crying_tinyRound_ThreeMeanies_tiny

One comment on “First step to illustrate a picturebook

  1. The illustrations are soooo cute. I love reading about the process. Thanks so much for sharing and have a great Thanksgiving!

    Paul R. Hewlett

    Like

Leave a Comment

