Snowed in & Working on Pencil Sketches for Children’s Picture Book App

I love being snowed in. When everyone else is trying to shovel their way out and fretting about being stuck at home, I’m happy. My studio is now in my home so I always have so many fun things to do. Today I worked on some full size pencil roughs for the book “Round” by Shervonne Taylor. I will be doing a picture book app first, then a printed picture book with the same art. So all the art must be made larger than it normally would for a picture book application for iPad. When I do the final illustrations everything will be on different layers, so the characters and backgrounds can move separately.Illustrator_pencil_roughs

I worked out the character sketches and the dummy earlier, so I know what each character will look like and what happens on each page, but it is so much fun seeing the main character doing her thing in each scene.

I love working with Children’s book authors. Each book is so different and so much fun to illustrate.

One comment on “Snowed in & Working on Pencil Sketches for Children’s Picture Book App

  1. Snowed in indeed! I hope you are enduring this horrific weather okay. It’s been downright dangerous. I love the sketches! So glad your studio is in your home so you don’t have to leave the house in this weather. Have a great day!

    Paul R. Hewlett

    Like

Leave a Comment

