Vacation is not a good time to work on illustrations

Round_rough_illustrationsOnce again, an illustration job is taking longer than I expected. This time I must take some of the blame. I have been on vacation for the last 17 days. I took everything with me and intended to work on the illustrations while I was gone. I thought working in a warm place by the pool would be more fun than working in a cold place looking out the window at snow. But vacations are supposed to be…well a vacation. Even though I love what I do, I still need a vacation away from working once in a while.

My vacation was over before I knew it. I am now very much behind schedule. There is still snow out my window. I have a deadline of May 9th. Which sounds far away, but I am also putting together the iPad App for this book, so I have to allow time for that process.

All 31 of the rough pencils are done, I need to do the finished line work, then start on the color work (my second favorite part after the character studies). All illustrations must be done in layers with any moving parts for the App to be on separate layers. It will take a lot of planning.

Leave a Comment

