Need a Kick-in the pants to move your career forward?

My best kick-in-the-pants advice to move ahead with your Children’s book, is signing up for a critique with an agent or publisher at one of the SCBWI events. I then have a goal to work towards and a deadline to finish my manuscript. Since I am an illustrator attempting to become an author/illustrator, I have a lot of work to do for my critiques. Not only do I need to finish and perfect my manuscript, but I also need to prepare sample illustrations and a complete book dummy finished for the picture book critique. Nothing like a little pressure to turn on the juice.

I am now working on finishing up illustrations for a 40 page picture book for a self published author that I’ve been working with for over a year. I’m also starting illustrations for a new picture book for a self published author AND working on perfecting my own manuscript and finishing illustrations for my own picture book due for critique mid-July.

I work best when I am working. I thrive on being busy. The more I work the more ideas I get and the more efficient I work (write or draw). My best advice is to work, because only when you are working can you create great stuff. Thinking about it just doesn’t get the same results.

Leave a Comment

