Illustrating a new book I am writing

Penelope_cover_WPThis is the working rough cover for Penelope’s Purrfect House Rules.

Like I don’t have enough to do, illustrating for other authors. I decided to write and illustrate a book myself. I have the manuscript in fair form, awaiting a professional critique and a rough dummy with all the illustrations in place. It’s been an interesting journey working for myself.

The picture book is written in the first person. I had a lot of fun with this direction. The main character is a self-centered, obsessive-compulsive cat. The cat gives her viewpoint in words, the pictures show a far different reality.

It’s not as easy as it looks cutting your words under 500 and still tell a story with action, a story arc and character development. I’m down to 380 words and it probably can be cut more. The illustrations do a lot of the heavy lifting.

2 comments on “Illustrating a new book I am writing

    • I’m trying to show that even though Penelope thinks everything in her life is perfect, the reality is far from perfect. Hence the ridgid tile lines with the splattered background (which doesn’t show up well on the blog) This is a work in progress.

      Like

Leave a Comment

