2014 SCBWI Missouri Regional Conference

SCBWI_banner_SM copyLast weekend was the SCBWI MO (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators) Fall Conference on the beautiful campus of Lindenwood University in St. Charles Missouri. I love attending these conferences.

Imagine being surrounded by hundreds of people who love children’s picture books and children’s picture book illustrations as much as you do. Two glorious days of attending talks and workshops geared to exactly what you are interested in. Experts from all over the U.S. are there to educate, critique and guide you in pursuing your dreams. I had a critique of my Illustration portfolio by Giuseppe Castellano, art director at Penguin Books and a critique of my children’s picture book dummy by Jodell Sadler, a literary agent at Sadler Literary. There was a peer critique of my picture book dummy, directed by Jeannie Ransom, late saturday night that was also very helpful. I also listened to talks by Jodell Sadler, Dan Yaccarino and Giuseppe Castellano.

I learned a lot from the workshop, talks and the critiques. I now need to digest all the great information and put it to good use. Above is the artwork I entered in the Conference Banner Design competition. Wendy Martin was the winner see her banner and all the other banner entries on the SCBWI website. Congratulations Wendy.

 

Leave a Comment

