Working on new Picture Book ideas I came up with during PiBoIdMo


Pen_sketchesB

November was Picture Book Month. It was also PiBoIdMo (Picture Book Idea Month) for me. I came up with more than 30 new ideas for picture books. It’s great to have such a file of ideas to work from. Now I need to go through them and decide which ones are worth working on right now, which ones need a little more time and which ones just need to disappear.

Since I am first an illustrator and a writer second, I always start with visual ideas. So my idea of expanding these ideas is a little more complicated than just jotting down a few lines. My best work comes from developing the characters visually, their personalities and all their quirks before I start with the story. I also sketch out each scene of the book before I start writing. So this process takes a bit more time than I would like it to.

 

3 comments on “Working on new Picture Book ideas I came up with during PiBoIdMo

Leave a Comment

