Getting very close to finish line.

Screen Shot 2015-01-18 at 2.15.07 PMI can’t believe it, I am finally getting very, very close to finishing a picture book I have been illustrating for a self-publishing author off and on for over two 1/2 years. It’s a darling book about a cute little “round” girl who wants to be the ballerina butterfly in her school play. You might call Olivia chubby, but she is beautiful inside and just needs to learn to bring out her joy and dance with all her heart.

It usually takes me between 3 to 6 months to finish all the illustrations for a picture book. It’s a long detailed process to make sure I illustrate just what the story needs. I have written on this blog about this particular book in the past, I thought it would be finished last year, but it just wasn’t ready. This self-publishing author wanted everything just right and took her time deciding on each step. I think this book will be worth the long wait.

I worked on and finished several other picture books during this long process, so I wasn’t sitting around twiddling my thumbs. I will be starting to illustrate a new e-book right after this book is completed that I am very excited about. The e-book should hopefully take me only 3 months.

If you have any question about the process of having your self-published picture book illustrated, contact me below.

Leave a Comment

