Channeling the Creative Life

I am a creator of things.

The words “creator of things” can encompass many types activities. My earlier career was as an art director for advertising agencies.  As part of that job, I created TV commercial, brochures and logo designs. I have created everything from a gigantic bunch of grapes for a photo shoot to wall-sized oil paintings. I have made baskets, upholstered sofas, pieced quilts and sewn my own wedding dress.  I even found time to create and raise two perfectly delightful children.

 

 

 

 

 

For the last nine years creating things has meant illustrating children’s picture books for other authors. Also, I have managed in the last year or so to extend my “creating” to include writing books for kids. More than anything I want to be able to write and illustrate a picture book of my very own and be published by a traditional publisher. Alas, I find very little time to write or illustrate my own books in-between illustrating books for other authors. When I do have small amounts of downtime between books for others I tend to work on small projects for my clients like logo design and websites to promote their books.

MOYH_New ETSY Soft

Am I complaining? No, I love what I do and I love being busy. I just wish there were more than 24 hours in a day. I wish I was disciplined enough to carve out a few hours each day to have creative time just for my work. Some day just for fun, I would love for all the many things I have created throughout my life to be in one room for me to see and remember. I know it would be a very crowded room full of great memories.

 

There's a Mouse on My Head

Picture book I illustrated for Donna Warwick

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Below is a contact form. email me if you have any questions or need a bid for your book.

 

 

Leave a Comment

